ps i still love you

I read To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before and I absolutely fell in love with it. It was one of those cute and cliche pretend relationship that turns into a real one and it was great. One of the better romance book that I read. So naturally, I was very excited for the sequel, especially after the first book’s ending. I just wanted more of this story. Unfortunately, I was a bit disappointed.

The characters were pretty much the same as they were in the last book. Lara Jean is like this cute little yapping puppy; she’s adorable but can get on your absolute last nerve. She just seemed afraid the entire book, but toward the end she got more confident in herself which I really enjoyed. Peter is Peter, and I love all the cute moments he has with Lara Jean in this book. Of course, jealousy wasn’t the best colour on him, but what do you expect in a cliche romance book? I really enjoyed the addition of John in this book. As much as I liked him as a character, I was really glad him and Lara Jean didn’t get together and ruin the entire Peter plot line. Overall, I liked the characters as much as last time.

This is where I get to my real issues: The plot. There really wasn’t anything too exciting to this book plot wise. I thought at the beginning the video recording would be the main thing, but that blew over pretty fast. The whole Genevieve story and her secret wasn’t that great, because you knew Peter wasn’t actually with her. Even the competition between John and Peter wasn’t that long. I just felt like this book didn’t have the story line that kept you reading like the first book.

However, Jenny Han’s writing style is still amazing. I just love the way she writes her stories. She is also amazing at writing love stories, which was by far my favourite part of this whole book. Lara Jean and Peter together are just so adorable I can’t explain it. When she added John into the equation, I didn’t know what to think. I loved John, but I love the couple together as well. Just so much cuteness in one book.

P.S. I Still Love You had some great scenes despite everything. Like the very fast but very adorable reconciliation of Peter and Lara Jean. I honestly wasn’t expecting them to work things out so fast but I was glad they did. It gave us a whole book of cute moments of them being together. And of course, you had to love the reconnection of old friends and the intense attacking game.

Overall, I did enjoy the book, but it wasn’t at all what I was expecting. Maybe I was just expecting too much from this book. There really wasn’t too much of a story going on. This book’s saving grace is all the cliche fluff that is fun to read. If you read the first book, I would definitely recommend reading this for all the cuteness.

