a whole new world

Can you recognise your dearly loved fairy tale in this? I couldn’t. Certainly, the author’s purpose was to twist the story we all know about and give us a different version of it. A darker one. And it was. Darker, that is. I don’t recall gobs of “happy” scenes. When there were some, they were mostly featuring Aladdin and Jasmine cuddling, kissing.

This action-packed book gad a rather sufficiently built world, easily visualised, but what was lacking almost missing – was characterisation. Only a scant amount of characters were comparable in personality to the ones in the original version. Liz Braswell wrote Jafar’s character representatively close to the “real” one and Abu’s too but, as for Aladdin and Jasmine and the sultan… not so much.

It was fast-paced yet, to have the opportunity to enter the two main characters’ thoughts better and actually get attached to them, I wanted it to be slower. There were also more than a handful of new roles in this story: friends and enemies as well as some characters meant for a cameo appearance, but I think that, the more characters a story possesses the slower the pacing should be. Doesn’t mean that it can’t have action, but it’s important to take a chapter here and there and focus a little more on the protagonists and less on the guest, mission, adventure, etc.

I will also add that I quite enjoyed the genie, even if he wasn’t as hilarious in Aladdin, The last time I watched the aforementioned movie was three years ago, I believe, and I remember being unable to stop myself from laughing, and that, whenever he opened his mouth.

Finally, even if there was alot of villainy throughout the story the conclusion will satisfy most of the readers. A surprising and slightly unnecessary – in my point of view – death occurred but it was an ending that will most likely gladden a reader’s heart nonetheless.

