can you keep a secret

To start of: this is probably the funniest, most romantic book I’ve ever read. Well, maybe not the most romantic, but it certainly does a good job.

I wasn’t really sure I wanted to read it. When I started, the writing that just seemed weird or maybe I should say, the main character reminded me of a complete air-head and I was really turned off. Until a few pages later and she got on the plane. Whilst I had been “meh” on Emma on that point, once she started blurting out her secrets on the plane, which had a patch of turbulence, I started to love her. Not because she was sharing her secrets, but because she was funny and she honestly thought she was going to die.

The stranger she’s sharing her precious secrets which turns out to be her boss. The Boss with a capital B, Jack Harper is a mystery man and downright sexy. The things he does are hilarious. He has poor little Emma on her toes throughout the book and their reactions to one another are priceless. In my usual reading, I would rather have the main character end up with the other guy, but for this one, I was rooting for Jack the whole time. I was just waiting and waiting for something to happen between the two of them and when it finally did, it was a bliss. I actually squealed with joy. No really. I did.

Emma has her own flaws as well. She doesn’t say what she likes or dislikes. With her boyfriend Connor, she’s lying that she likes this or that when in reality she utterly hates it. Emma does this alot and she has a bunch of people thinking she does or enjoys something when she really doesn’t. It drove me nuts. Emma’s character is relatable.

I’ve read plenty of books that made me smile. But Can You Keep A Secret? took it to a whole new level. I was snorting, I was laughing, I was crying, I was angry, and most of all, I really connected with the book, I was a part of it, and I didn’t want it to end.

