gone girl

Ms. Flynn hooked me with the first line and kept my attention riveted until the very end. I write without reservation that the author crafted the most suspenseful novel I’ve ever had the pleasure of reading. Gone Girl impressed me on every conceivable level.

What it’s difficult to select just one aspect the author excelled at, I found the character development Ms. Flynn’s strongest kill. The narrative alternated between Nick Dunne and his missing wife Amy; the latter in the form of diary entries. I found neither one of these characters likeable, but that led me to enjoy the book even more. Stories that feature a saintly protagonist battling a demoniacal antagonist bore me. Both of the main characters in Gone Girl had deep psychological flaws, which made the story much more engaging. Presenting the story in their own words made me upset when bad things happened to them. And these characters deserved their misfortunes.

I found Flynn’s deft use of foreshadowing without peer. With that acknowledgement, I don’t want to give away spoilers. The mystery of Amy’s disappearance captivated me so much that I wouldn’t want to deny other readers same experience. What I can do is suggest that those planning on reading Gone Girl keep the following passages in mind as they progress through the narrative. To be fair, I picked-up on them when I perused the book.

With such complexity around the clues to Amy’s disappearance, I thought the author did a great job staying on-topic. Admittedly, when I first read it, I felt disappointed. I thought such a gripping story deserved a climactic ending that would correspond to the tension and anxiety in the narrative. The more I reflected on it, though I had to acknowledge that the author made the prospect artistic call with the conclusion.

As a generalisation, I will comment that based on Nick’s character and Amy’s personality, the conclusion perfectly suited their relationship. The author made it perfectly consistent with their interaction throughout the story. Whilst I can understand why readers would not like the way the novel ended, the author wrapped it up properly.

Gillian Flynn did an exceptional job crafting Gone Girl. I wanted to learn more about the characters inspite of me not liking them. I wanted to find out what hapenened next in the story, but felt nervous about finding out. It takes a gifted author to do all this whilst crafting a mystery this complex. I liked the writer much more than I liked her characters.

