the son of neptune
I had been saddened when the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series ended; then with The Heroes of Olympus series began, I read through the first book as quickly as I could in hopes that Percy would at least appear in the end, but alas! I has to wait for the second book. At least some of the familiar characters from Camp Half-Blood made me Percy a little less, but most of the story on The Lost Hero focuses on three new characters and a fairly “Percy-free” story line. Now, because it was established that the next book would be about him, I began waiting impatiently for Percy to make a comeback. Well I thought this book couldn’t have been a more fitting way to highlight Percy’s return. And yest, the cover is fantastic. Admittedly, I find the two characters introduced in this book more likable than the new characters in The Lost Hero, I thought their chemistry with Percy – and each other – was spot on.

I’ve always known that my biggest issue with reading this particular book would be with the fact that it focuses on the Roman side of the Olympian myth. I am very much fascinated and in love with the Greek side of the mythology so I would have preferred immersing myself in that world, but that is not to say I did not enjoy this book, I am a very big Rick Riordan fan because he managed to whip the messy -and sometimes bizarre of the Olympian gods into a funny, witty, and entertaining series of stories, whilst still being able to make use of the mythologies in an accurate manner.

That said, this book has all the fast pacing, crazy plot twists, wild surprises, and the endearing humour that seems to mark every Rick Riordan work, even from the very beginning of the book. I have loved every one of them, and this one was no different.

Written in the alternating points of view of the three main characters )Percy, Frank, and Hazel), the readers are able to get a fuller sense of the of the type of person each of the characters are though the way they think. But it’s not limited to just their quirks and attitudes; Riordan also explains the past and the family background of each character, because those details are essential to how each of them became the sort of person they are in the present setting of the story. What I like most about this kind of alternating point of view is that the reader is able to gain an understanding of the perceptions of each characters towards one another. Also, Riordan manages to make each character’s point of view very distinct and consistent, whilst still shifting from one character to another without compromising the fluidity of the story. The chapters are short, making it seem like the story is even more electrifyingly fast-paced.

As his habit, Rick Riordan goes the long mile by including a little index of Roman terminologies at the end of the book for those who are unfamiliar with Roman mythology. I think Rick Riordan has done a great job of introducing the very fascinating world of Greek, Egyptian, and Roman myth to children and other people of all ages with his slew of works, and for that I salute him.

