me-before-you

What an incredible story!

When I finished this book, tears were pouring down my face. It was powerful, heart-breaking, and bittersweet but also oddly heartwarming. Absolutely unforgettable. I honestly think it’s impossible to come away from this book without an overwhelming sense of gratitude for all the blessings in your life.

This story was quietly captivating. You could almost call it slow-paced and yet I didn’t want to put it down and was constantly thinking about all aspects of the story even when I wasn’t reading it. I’m at odds with how much I should tell you about it though. On one hand, I fully respect and understand the benefits of going into a story like this blind, but on the flip side, if it was me, I would have wanted to know what to expect so I’ m going to split things up here.

There is no sudden tragedy or twist at the end. More like a personal choice by taking a realistic look at life. It’s painfully heartbreaking to admit but I do feel that, given the circumstances.

I’m not going to lie, prior to reading this book, I struggled with the morality of it simply based on my natural reaction. But looking back, the was unfair because I didn’t really know the complexity or details of this exact situation. I think we innately want to fix things, and it’s easier to hold on to imaginary hope when you’re not the person who is trapped. It’s an incredibly selfless act to love someone enough to put their happiness first even at the cost of your own. It makes my heart ache to say this and I still can’t even think about it without tears coming to my eyes but it really ended the only way it could have.

There are so many valuable life lessons embedded in this story – to find a purpose in life, to follow your passions, to never waste a single moment – and I feel like this story gives an important reminder to value each minute, and cherish each of the things that we can so easily take for granted.

Everything is precious. Every ability. Every minute. All of it.

Count your blessings. Be grateful for each one of them. Read this book.

