six-of-crows

Six of Crows is set in the world of Grisha, which may be familiar to those that have read the Grisha trilogy. I haven’t read the trilogy yet, so I was afraid that I would be a bit confused but I wasn’t at all. 

I can imagine how challenging it would be for Bardugo to write from the views of five different people, switching back and forth but she pulls this off flawlessly. The transitions were smooth and was interesting to hear from different characters. All of the characters are all so well-developed. We learnt the back stories, or at least partial back stories of all six characters and we discover their traits through both explicit and implicit characterisation. I found myself liking all the the characters. Basically, the characters are beautiful.

The plot, I was kept on the edge of my seat throughout the entire book and there was never a dull moment. Leigh Bardugo is truly a master story teller. The world building is done very well. As someone who hasn’t read The Grisha Series, it was fun trying to correlate the different countries. And it was fun how she based them off actual places.

The romance in Six of Crows is one of the best I’ve read in awhile, and particularly the romance between Kaz and Inej. Bardugo proves that romance does need to be the central story line of a YA novel. Although it is  fairly evident that Kaz and Inej care for each other beyond just loyalty as Dreg members, their feelings for each other weren’t initially obvious and was quite subtle, which makes it all better.

In summary, I love this book. I love the characters, the plot, everything.

