the-5th-wave

The 5th Wave has taken residency on my shelf for over a year now and I’m not sure why I didn’t read it sooner as I thoroughly enjoyed it. It was the perfect combination of dystopian world, extra-terrestrial creatures, sassy characters, and unexpected plot twists that me love this book. I’m ecstatic to read the sequel to this heart-pounding novel.

As this is an honest review, and I am entitled to my own opinion, I will say that I wasn’t immediately gripped by this book and I struggled to read the first twenty pages or so, when I hit the part where I started enjoying the book, I really loved it. The book definitely seemed to improve as it went on and by the time I had finished it, I was disappointed that it was over.

I love the idea of this book, I really do. It’s refreshing to see a book in the dystopia genre that doesn’t consist of a teenage girl trying to overthrow a corrupted government. The alien aspect really intrigued me and as it had sci-fi themes coinciding with the dystopia and apocalyptic, it made me love it even more. So The 5th Wave had me even more enthralled.

The plot was fantastic too. I will admit that the beginning was quite confusing and I wasn’t completely sure of what had happened in Cassie’s world and how the Earth came to be rid of nearly 7 billion people, but I eventually started understanding the events that had happened previously. I do think the author should have structured it so that it would make what happened more understandable for those reading it. However, he could have wrote it in this way to represent the characters’ bewildered states, and let the readers feel confused like the characters as we both simultaneously try to solve this paradox.

There were so many plot twists and cliff hangers, and astounding revelations that had me astonished. I can’t say much or refer to certain characters as it would spoil it, but there will definitely be moments where you’ll just stare at the page whilst your brain tries to comprehend what you just read.

I really like Rick Yancey’s style of writing. There were several quotes that had me musing the meaning of life and promises, and trust, and surrendering, and continuing when you want to give up, and other philosophical thoughts. He also writes in a way that makes you feel incredibly empathetic towards the characters. The characters thought process became my own when we were faced with a certain situation. I was constantly in as state of distrust and confusion like the other characters, as we both tried to distinguish lies from reality. It take quite a skilled writer to make a reader feel that way.

Overall, The 5th Wave was a fantastic read filled to the brim with action, unexpectedness, sass, humour, and philosophical thoughts that will induce wondering about the world within the readers. It will explore thoughts that will make us wonder about what makes us human and how easily our humanity can be take from us if we were indoctrinated to believe lie. It will show how easily it is to turn humans into distrustful, inhumane people, and how we thrive on love, and trust, and hope to get us through the difficult situations. Whilst exploring themes such as that, it introduced us to defiant characters that are fantastic role models as they will fight for what they believe in whilst holding on to their humanity and how they will strive to keep their promises and to stay human in an inhumane world. The 5th Wave was utterly fantastic.

