the-lost-hero

I must begin by saying that after I read the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series, I knew that this series was going to be magnificent. As soon as I opened the book and I was a chapter into it, the novel consisted of action, and heroic, and twists at the very start. The story begins with the memory loss of a teenager named Jason Grace. He finds himself in an unknown life with strange people surrounding him who are supposedly his friends. On a school excursion, he and his friends are attacked by storm spirits called venti. Jason discovers that he is a half-blood after the attack is over. Later along in the book, it is evident, during quests which involved Queen Hera, that Jason is a Roman hero stuck in the life of a Greek hero. He unlocks more of his memory as the novel continues.

As soon as I picked the book up, it was difficult to put down again because of how enticing it is to be in another world of Greek/Roman mythology. It is thrilling to say that Riordan pulled off a novel that has many cohesive characteristics such as a action, twists, cliffhangers, and more. I advise all people to read this novel if they haven’t already.

What I especially adored about this novel was that Riordan gave each of the characters a unique and rare ability which is discovered and develops throughout the novel. It makes the character connect with readers which leads to more thrills. I also like moments when the trio on a quest feels down and has a loss of determination, it is always Piper that brings them together again with a new surge of willpower.

Leo, Piper, and Jason grow closer to each other on their quest to save the captured god/godesses though Percy Jackson and the Olympians is the prequel to The Heroes of Olympus. It was difficult to jump from first person in Percy Jackson to third person in The Heroes of Olympus as they are both two entirely different contexts. However, I got used to third person, and I must admit I liked it even better as it explain what is happening from different perspectives for each of the protagonists. There are many new ancient Greek antagonists in the novel which are revealed throughout the journey. With this comes new protagonists who have power and strength to overcome anything standing in their way, some at a loss, and some so simple without any injury or discomfort.

Overall, this is a Top 5 read in my opinion. Which has no minor or major faults. However, I should warn you that once this book has been picked up, it will be near impossible to put down again.

