throne-of-fire

In Throne of Fire, Sadie and Carter continue their adventures with the Egyptian gods. Basically, they are trying to stop Apophis – the ultimate evil – from rising to power before it’s too late. It is classic adventures and quests. Myths and modern day. Siblings trying to save the world.

So what did I like about this book? Quite alot actually. Let me recap what I didn’t like about the last book. First, Sadie hogged all the cool bits and I didn’t enjoy them as a narrator. Second, I thought there were way too many mini quests and quests within quests. Nothing seemed to just happen straightforward and it was a little of too long.

This book was better. The story was more straightforward. They’re trying to stop Apophis frpm rising and with such a clear focus. They stay on track and the story doesn’t take eons to take to the action. The pacing was just better. Sadie isn’t still my favourite narrator. She still bothers me. Alot. I think it has to do with the fact that she is 12 (she turns 13 somewhere in the book, but still) she’s just a kid, and yet, she’s crushing on boys like all over the place. What is this? Seriously.

And honestly, it’s not a hard problem to fix. Just start your characters off older. Youth worked with Percy Jackson because he had a year or so in between each of his adventures so he grew up. But this story barely has weeks. So I know Sadie and Carter will be pursing love at the tender ages of 13 and 14 respectively. But it would have made so much more sense if they had been 15 and 16. It’s not as if all the children reading Percy Jackson or Harry Potter stopped reading when the character grew older than them. So logically, having an older character wouldn’t stop them from reading books to begin with.

Carter is not that different from Sadie. But I liked him more. I can’t really put my finger on why, but I did. I thought he was just nicer to read about. And I like his adventures more. He is also a well crafted and vibrant character.

All of Riordan’s characters are. I mean, I really think this guy has a talent for telling a story in largely simple terms and still managing to get a movie play through my head.

Riordan, he sticks with the times. His kids sounds like kids; this guy really does know his readers. He knows exactly how we talk and what kind of things will make us laugh. And I’m not kidding when I say that there were times when I just had to stop reading because I was laughing so hard.

Anyways, seeing these characters come to life – Set in a red disco suit, Isis who is gorgeous with gossamer wings, Horus as an arrogant king – it’s just fun. Also the fact that Riordan is always close to the existing myths makes these books fairly reliable for getting kids interested in ancient stories. I think they do justice to the original legends, and certainly make them available to a younger reader.

The one thing I didn’t like with this story (apart from Sadie) was that when big things happened sometimes the scene would be too short. Usually Riordan has a flare for the awesome things. But there was a point when someone that Carter was looking for what was found and a god was released and it was like, if I had blinked I would have missed what happened. That sort of thing popped up once or twice or it was just jarring, because I was expecting more.

Wow I’ve officially rumbled my brains out. In short, this book was more concise and a better read than the first one. I thought the end was exciting and the twists and turns definitely kept me entertained.

Anyways, fans of the series won’t be disappointed. I really think that any of the Riordan’s books are great read for kids, not only to teach them about ancient myths and expose them to new things, but also just to get them into reading. Because these books are fun, no matter your age they just simply fun.

