the-sorcerers-stone

I have alot going on this month, and I am taking my sweet time reading books this year, so finishing a book is taking longer than it did the past two years. But I finally re-read Harry Potter and The Sorcerer’s Stone after so many years, and let me tell you, I actually hugged the book afterwards. I hesitated in writing this review because what could I say that hasn’t already been said? But my mind’s been stuck on Harry Potter, and I just had to let it out. So here we are.

Harry Potter and The Sorcerer’s Stone is not my favourite book in the series, but it definitely holds a place in my heart because it’s the book that introduced us to the amazing, fantastic world of everything – Harry Potter. Even Voldemort because as Mr. Ollivander’s said, “Terrible, but great”. Although in this context, when I say great, I meant that he was able to acquire so much and knowledge and Voldemort was undeniably highly skilled, and that is, more often than not, the basis for the usage of the word “great”.

I first read this book in 2009, and this copy is so special to me for so many reasons. When the whole Harry Potter franchise became popular in the Philippines around the year 2000, alot of schools banned the books, and the book was highly controversial. You know how I got a copy? My grandmother gave me a money, and then I bought the boxed set. How cool she is! I mean she’s pretty conventional and strict Catholic but she didn’t buy into the whole “magic is evil” argument that was spouted by some back then.

Another reason why I like Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone is that aside from the loss of Professor Quirrell, whom I first pitied, but is now my most disliked character in the Harry Potter world, all our belvoed characters are happy there. If you’ve read the series, then you must know that the books progressively get darker and darker, and this is one of the books that still has a happy tone to it.

I love the different values espoused in the book even though they are not “in your face”. There’s a strong family ties, great friendship, support system, discipline, and knowing when to give a person a space and a little slack to get his act together. I also love that even at a young age, Harry, Ron, and Hermione took it upon themselves to do what must be done even though they’re scared, or they might get hurt.

Now that I am older and read more books, I am even more impressed by J.K. Rowling. Whilst reading Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, I really wondered at her imagination and how she was able to create this whole world, all these characters with different personalities, the various structures (Hello! Gringotts and 9 and 3 quarters?!) and the character progression. She put all these fantastical creatures in a single world and made it, even logical that they are just there. Plus she made you just want to be in that book, or even wish that the whole wizarding world is not just a figment of her imagination, even though there’s a “real” evil lurking everywhere. I know she’s into adult/mystery books now but I am really waiting for another fantasy series from her. I hope I am not the only one.

