the-selection

It was kind of hard for me to get into The Selection, but I won’t hold that against my opinion of the book. (I’ve read several books that started out slow that I ended up loving Twilight and The Hunger Games.) Initially, I wasn’t sure how I was going to feel about this book, which is like The Hunger Games meets The Bachelor – except kids don’t fight to the death and there’s no Chris Harrison and roses. Actually, what drove me kind of crazy throughout this whole book was how similar it was to The Hunger Games.

America is alot like Katniss, a girl who doesn’t really want to be where she is but is there because of the people she cares for. When I think of Gavril I think of Caesar Flickerman. America has two guys she likes and who fight for her. (But let’s face it, that’s in almost every book.) A group of girls competing for a guy until just one is left, is a less violent version of 24 tributes fighting to the death in an arena. The maids are alot like Katniss’s crew for make-up and hair. I’m almost positive (but I haven’t checked) that they have the same fonts. America realises that there’s alot she doesn’t know about Illéa and its history – kind of lies of The Capitol, but I never saw Illéa as evil.

There are plenty of comparisons to The Hunger Games that were almost always on my mind. However, when I finished the book, I realised that it really didn’t matter. So many books are similar to each other, and ideas are bound to overlap at some point. But when I read that last page, I really wanted The Elite, book two in my hands, and I knew that I really liked The Selection.

The book was one of the books that is just a really nice feel-good read. So many girls grow up wanting to be a princess (been there, done that – the wanting part, not becoming a princess part), and then this book comes along giving over thirty girls the opportunity to become a member of the royal family. Even though America didn’t want this – or does she now? – she still becomes one of The Selected and goes to live in a palace with decadent food and divine dresses. And then there’s Prince Maxon, who may seem stiff and professional at first, but then you can’t help falling for him. Then there’s Aspen, and I don’t even know what to think of him. I think I like Maxon more than Aspen, but who knows what will happen in The Elite.

And there was so much that I liked in The Selection. Aspen. The way he looks and kisses America. You want that. I want that. Prince Maxon. His first kiss with America. It was awkward and sweet but I loved it so much! The Rebels. The attacks on the palace don’t just happen to show the dangers of being royal and for some action. No I’m pretty sure they’re happening for a reason and that they’re looking for something. I also have a couple of ideas who are rebel spies. (This hasn’t been mentioned, but I’m pretty sure they exist.) America is changing things. She’s making Prince Maxon more aware of the hardships going on outside the palace, and that knowledge hurts him to the point where he fights to make things better. The maids. They’re just so nice! Some people would think the maids would act invisible or be searching for juicy gossip; not these maids. They take care of America and are more like friends than the help.

In the end, I’m presently surprised with The Selection. Whilst it wasn’t quite what I thought it was going to be, I still enjoyed it. Plus, I was up until 4.54 a.m. fighting sleep to finish it. In other words, it’s one of those books. (That’s a good thing by the way.) There are some books that I can make myself put down as it gets late. With The Selection, I’d tell myself I’d stop at the end of the chapter… and next, and the next, and the next, and the next. If you’ve read this book, let me know what you thought of it. If not, get reading and tell me how it was.

